http://www.rmofstandrews.com/dyk.asp?ID=12 Petersfield has an interesting history. Originally, it was called St. Louis, for its founder, Romuaid Gadeau Xavier Saint Louis. Much is learned about the culture of the district from Frank Walter's book "Pieces of the Past". Mr. St. Louis discovered the area now known as Petersfleld when he came to explore the area with his friend Alexander Muckle, who had established a new life on Muckies Creek, almost three miles east of Clandeboye. St. Louis visualized the possibilities of the Petersfield area as a summer resort and townsite when the railway bridged Netley Creek, in the early nineteen hundreds. St. Louis encouraged business~men from Winnipeg to invest in the project which included the north side of Section 27 15 4E and the south side of Section 22 15 4E. St. Louis dreamed of having small acreage sold to families who could have cows. He could establish a cheese factory, a lumberyard and implement dealership. When his dream was slow to evolve, his investors got restless and he bought them out. After his death in 1909, the area began to be referred to by the Railway Company as Peter's field, because Peter Biy looked after that area. There is also the story that a Peter Sinclair had a cultivated field south of the present hotel that was used as a landmark. The name Petersfield has survived. It has developed in a little different manner than what St. Louis anticipated, but he did think it could be a summer playground for people from Winnipeg and that it has become. Check out more homes with in the area for sale, Call today!
Daniel Kreutzer - REALTOR®